Ironically the first Mr. Basketball and Coach of the Year awards were handed out by Wayne Dawkins and Co-Founder Chris VanZyl at the Hockey Hall of Fame in downtown Toronto. With Toronto Star reporter, David Grossman on hand to witness as Videl Massiah-Eastern Commerce CI, Wayne Smith-Bathurst CI, Carl English-St Thomas Aquinas, and Steve Morrison-Bathurst CI became the first Mr. Basketball Ontario and Canada Recipients. On that day Bob Maydo-Bathurst Heights CI and Mark Walton-Cathedral HS were present to receive the first Coach of the Year Ontario and G.T.A. awards. The annual celebration was moved in 2000 to become the start of the Annual P.H.A.S.E. 1 All Canada Classic. Traditionally starting with a semi-formal awards banquet recognizing and awarding the efforts of dedicated members in our basketball community. On this special evening, all the participants in the All Canada Classic were in attendance as the awards for Mr. and Miss Basketball, Coach of the Year, and many more were presented. Past and present all stars will have the opportunity to meet and encourage each other and a number of celebrities and guest presenters were in attendance to help enhance the evening.

Follow Us!

© 2002 Copyright P.H.A.S.E. 1 Youth Association 

All rights reserved

  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook